If at first you don’t want to do something, try relating it to food

Let’s be honest.

We don’t always want to do what we’re supposed to.

For example, this blog post.

No sooner do I make the Great Decision to start a blog and set myself a goal of posting weekly than life happens, events unfold as they will, and I’m sitting here on a Sunday afternoon feeling surly because I just don’t want to. No subject: whatever it is, I don’t want to do it. At this particular moment, though, I don’t want to write a blog post.

On Thursday afternoon I wrote a post for this blog. But I didn’t like it, so I never uploaded it. Friday was busy, Saturday was lazy, and now, late on Sunday afternoon, I am so full of pudding that I was incapable of doing much more than sitting down in front of my laptop, so I heave myself into my desk chair, start her engine, and, first things first, check my email.

Up comes the little reminder that my weekly blog post is due.

Oh yeah.

That.

Crap.

Why bother?

What on earth can I talk about this week? Plenty has happened, but how to extract one strand of coherent thought from the milieu and convert it into text for a blog post?

I tried to talk about A Thing when I tried to write on Thursday, and I didn’t like that, so we’re not going back there again. No, I’m not ready to talk about Issues. I need to start slow. Go gently. It’s Sunday afternoon and I’m tired. This state of post-pudding consumption is no state to try and think about things in.

On the other hand, like I said last week, this blog is supposed to be a sort of study tool, and an important part of studying is self-discipline.

So I don’t want to, but I will.

See, the thing is, I’m not sure there is a trick to writing and research.

Self-discipline and consistency are crucial, but these are not tricks: they are skills. 

Self-control is learned, not innate.

I just ate about half a kilo of pudding, so I’m confident of this. The urge to indulge is strong within us. So is the urge to do things we like to do, and the urge to avoid things we don’t like to do. Some people, of course, like challenges. Such is the infinite variability of the human race. But I suspect most people would prefer to eat pudding.

It was a marmalade and chocolate croissant pudding, if you were wondering. I don’t want to focus too much on the pudding, but it seems as good a topic as any, and man is it making this post easier to write.

In a convoluted sort of way, I am working towards the sage and unoriginal observation that PUDDING IS GOD—no

Well, maybe

But also: we should be nice to ourselves. Encourage ourselves. Set goals and work towards them. When they are too big, break them down, or try looking at them in a different way.

Ah! There it is! The recurring theme. 2/2.

Perspective.

There I was, ten minutes ago, glaring at my ‘post a thing on your blog’ reminder and thinking I have nothing to say this week. Nothing. I won’t even try.

But then I started thinking about pudding, and here we are, a few hundred words later, and I’m done.

I can tick that one off this week’s to-do list.

See you next week, and let me know if you want to try the recipe.

2 comments

  1. I definitely want that recipe … Or even just the pudding haha =D

    Perseverance is definitely a big part of it, in hand with self-discipline for sure!! You can do it! I have faith in you! =]

  2. I know exactly what you mean – start a blog and it’s exciting. A few weeks in and it’s a chore. Human nature I guess. But pudding always helps.

Leave a Reply

